Mytikas is a seaside village, the name of which probably derives from its geographical location, as it is built on an edge (nose), east of Cape Kamilafka.
There is little historical evidence for the village, which actually developed after the Turkish occupation (1830). The 19th century British traveler William Martin Leek mentions the existence of a Roman building on the cape of Mytikas, which suggests the existence of a rural house in Roman times.
Today, Mytikas is a picturesque tourist destination, mainly due to its ferry connection with the opposite islands of Kalamos and Kastos.
A special attraction of Mytikas is the small church of Agia Eleousa located on the mountain behind Mytikas, in a cave. It has impressive frescoes and of course stunning views of Kalamos, Kastos and Lefkada.